Daniel Kotsimbos

Artist working in transitory media. 

Contact for projects and collaboration





2020 Yarra Anthroposphere, Data Sonification, City of Yarra

2020 Peak Frequency, Flinders St Billboard, Fivex Foundation


2018 BFA (Visual Art), Victorian College of the Arts, Melbourne

Solo Exhibitions

2019 Instruments of Life, No Vacancy Gallery, Melbourne

Public Art Projects

2018 Heart Imprint Brick, Swanston St Billboard, Next Wave

Group Exhibitions

2019 You Are Here, Melbourne Living Museum of the West

2018 Seven Paintings, Sutton Gallery, Melbourne

Performance / Set Design

2019 Precipitations, Grant Street Theatre, Southbank, Melbourne

2019 Dark Points, Mycelium Studios, Melbourne Fringe Festival

Curatorial Projects

2017 Drawing in 3D, VCA Artspace, Melbourne

Projections / Screenings

2019 Ropeworks Projections, Kinnears Ropeworks Factory, Due West Festival

2019 Band Stage Visuals, Strawberry Fields Festival

2019 Gordon Koang Visuals, Meredith Music Festival

2019 Gordon Koang Visuals, Melbourne Recital Centre

2015 Kangaroo, Precipitation & Enlightenment, White Night, Melbourne/Ballarat


2020 Fivex Art Prize Finalist

2018 Next Wave Art Prize

2018 Fiona Myer Award

2018 Majlis Prize Shortlist

‘Drawing in 3D’
steel, LCD displays, electrical cable, quad-channel animation
200 x 200 x 200cm

Group exhibition designed and curated for the Drawing Department at VCA Artspace, 2017.

25 artists’ works synchronised onto a 4 screen structure. The exhibition aimed to invert curatorial conventions towards ‘the group show’, instead of artworks being segmented in space on white-cube walls, each artwork was digitised and placed into a sequence in time onto a shared centralised point (screen structure). Artworks were uploaded onto a server and the exhibition was stitched together in an editing suite. The centralised design facilitated an experience in which the viewing audience always maintained a shared line-of-sight with the artwork and each other.

Anatol Pitt, Belinda Reid, Ben Stephens, Brahmony McCrossin, Brayden Van Meurs, Charlie Harding, Chas Manning, Daisy Atkin-Harrison, David Lowe, Emily Eliades, Emily Norton, Evan Loxton, Evan Whittington, Finn Healy, Grace Spence, Isabel Rumble, Jana Moser, Jennifer Tarry-Smith, Keren Simmon, Kirby Casilli, Lucy Wilson, Matthew Asling, Meg Evans, Rebecca Riggs, Tamara Marrington.